## SILICON VALLEY CLEAN ENERGY AUTHORITY RESOLUTION NO. 2021-19

## A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE SILICON VALLEY CLEAN ENERGY AUTHORITY ENDORSING THE ZEV2030 INITIATIVE

**WHEREAS**, the Silicon Valley Clean Energy Authority ("Authority") was formed on March 31, 2016 pursuant to a Joint Powers Agreement to study, promote, develop, conduct, operate, and manage energy programs in Santa Clara County;

**WHEREAS,** according to the Intergovernmental Plan on Climate Change (IPCC), increasing greenhouse gases (GHG) will cause global temperatures to rise 1.5 degrees Celsius by as early as 2030;

**WHEREAS**, Silicon Valley Clean Energy has adopted an organizational goal to achieve energy and transportation GHG reductions of 30% from the 2015 baseline by 2021, 40% by 2025, and 50% by 2030;

**WHEREAS**, Silicon Valley Clean Energy has adopted a strategic planning goal to work with the community to plan and track energy and transportation GHG reductions:

**WHEREAS**, the transportation sector is the largest source of Santa Clara County's greenhouse gas emissions;

**WHEREAS**, electrifying the transportation sector needs to be at the forefront of discussion, innovation, and action in a concerted effort to address the climate crisis;

**WHEREAS**, zero emission vehicles and related infrastructure services are an important and growing sector of California's' economy;

**WHEREAS**, phasing out fossil fuel-powered internal combustion vehicles can lead to a reduction in oil refineries and pumpjacks and reduce harmful local public health impacts in vulnerable communities; and

**WHEREAS**, the ZEV2030 Zero Emission Vehicle Pledge, available at ZEV2030.org, articulates the dire need for reform to California's transportation system and its commitment to decarbonizing and combating the climate crisis;

**NOW**, **BE IT RESOLVED** that the Board endorses the efforts of the ZEV2030 Initiative to have all new vehicles be zero emissions in California by 2030.

## **PASSED AND ADOPTED** this 11<sup>th</sup> day of August 2021, by the following vote:

JURISDICTION	NAME	AYE	NO	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
City of Campbell	Director Gibbons	✓			
City of Cupertino	Director Willey	✓			
City of Gilroy	Alternate Director Armendariz				✓
City of Los Altos	Director Fligor	✓			
Town of Los Altos Hills	Director Tyson	✓			
Town of Los Gatos	Director Rennie	✓			
City of Milpitas	Director Chua	✓			
City of Monte Sereno	Director Ellahie	✓			
City of Morgan Hill	Alternate Director Eulo	✓			
City of Mountain View	Director Abe-Koga	✓			
County of Santa Clara	Director Ellenberg	✓			
City of Saratoga	Director Walia	✓			
City of Sunnyvale	Director Larsson	✓			

DocuSigned by:	
Margaret a	le-Koga
4E7E6E0AE86B485	<del></del>
Chair	

ATTEST:

DocuSigned by:

Andrea Pizano

8BG3664ACEA848D...

Andrea Pizano, Board Secretary