## SILICON VALLEY CLEAN ENERGY AUTHORITY RESOLUTION NO. 2021-16

## A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE SILICON VALLEY CLEAN ENERGY AUTHORITY UPDATING THE ANNUAL NEM SURPLUS CASHOUT POLICY

WHEREAS, the Silicon Valley Clean Energy Authority ("Authority") was formed on March 31, 2016 pursuant to a Joint Powers Agreement to study, promote, develop, conduct, operate, and manage energy programs in Santa Clara County; and

WHEREAS, at the January 11, 2017 Board of Directors Meeting, the Board adopted Electric Schedule NEM-SVCE, establishing SVCE's net energy metering policy and associated rates; and

WHEREAS, since 2017, annual SVCE payouts have continued to increase under the SVCE Annual Cash-Out terms of Electric Schedule NEM-SVCE, and now significantly exceed payouts under PG&E's comparable annual net surplus compensation policy; and

**WHEREAS**, customers receiving annual payments are predominantly from higher-income areas, with 70% of customers receiving payments from the top two socioeconomic census quartiles; and

**WHEREAS**, SVCE seeks to reduce annual expenses on NEM surplus cashouts, remain competitive with PG&E's NEM surplus compensation policy, and introduce additional NEM surplus credit for low-income customers.

**NOW THEREFORE**, the Board of Directors of the Silicon Valley Clean Energy Authority does hereby resolve, determine, and order as follows:

<u>Section 1.</u> Update SVCE's Annual Cash-Out terms for NEM customers as described in Attachment 1, Electric Schedule NEM-SVCE 2021, to pay NEM customers annual surplus compensation for surplus kilowatt hours based on a multiple of PG&E's wholesale net surplus compensation rate, set at two times for non-CARE/FERA NEM customers, and two and one-half times for CARE/FERA customers, up to a maximum of \$5,000 in a year.

Section 2. The updated Cash-Out terms described in NEM-SVCE-2021 will

become effective as of the end-date of a customer's March-April 2022 billing cycle, so that the original terms of the annual NEM cash-out policy will apply through conclusion of the April 2022 annual cash-out cycle, and the new terms will be in effect thereafter.

**PASSED AND ADOPTED** this 11th day of August 2021, by the following vote:

JURISDICTION	NAME	AYE	NO	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
City of Campbell	Director Gibbons	$\checkmark$			
City of Cupertino	Director Willey	$\checkmark$			
City of Gilroy	Alternate Director Armendariz				$\checkmark$
City of Los Altos	Director Fligor	$\checkmark$			
Town of Los Altos Hills	Director Tyson	$\checkmark$			
Town of Los Gatos	Director Rennie	$\checkmark$			
City of Milpitas	Director Chua	$\checkmark$			
City of Monte Sereno	Director Ellahie	$\checkmark$			
City of Morgan Hill	Alternate Director Eulo	$\checkmark$			
City of Mountain View	Director Abe-Koga	$\checkmark$			
County of Santa Clara	Director Ellenberg	$\checkmark$			
City of Saratoga	Director Walia	$\checkmark$			
City of Sunnyvale	Director Larsson	$\checkmark$			

DocuSigned by:

Margaret Abe-Koga 4E7E6E04E86B485

Chair

ATTEST:

---- DocuSigned by:

Andrea Pizano

Andrea Pizano, Board Secretary

## **ATTACHMENT**

Electric Schedule NEM-SVCE