SILICON VALLEY CLEAN ENERGY AUTHORITY RESOLUTION NO. 2021-13

A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE SILICON VALLEY CLEAN ENERGY AUTHORITY ENDORSING THE BEYOND GAS INITIATIVE

WHEREAS, the Silicon Valley Clean Energy Authority ("Authority") was formed on March 31, 2016 pursuant to a Joint Powers Agreement to study, promote, develop, conduct, operate, and manage energy programs in Santa Clara County; and

WHEREAS, according to the Intergovernmental Plan on Climate Change (IPCC), increasing greenhouse gases (GHG) will cause global temperatures to rise 1.5 degrees Celsius by as early as 2030; and

WHEREAS, Silicon Valley Clean Energy has adopted an organizational goal to achieve energy and transportation GHG reductions of 30% from the 2015 baseline by 2021, 40% by 2025, and 50% by 2030;

WHEREAS, Silicon Valley Clean Energy has adopted a strategic planning goal to work with the community to plan and track energy and transportation GHG reductions;

WHEREAS, the transportation sector is the largest source of Santa Clara County's greenhouse gas emissions;

WHEREAS, Joint Venture Silicon Valley has launched the "Beyond Gasoline" initiative, with the goal of reducing gasoline consumption in Silicon Valley 50% by 2030, by partnering with local governments and businesses on measures and commitments to reduce gasoline consumption and by educating the broader community on why and how to reduce gasoline consumption,

NOW, BE IT RESOLVED that the Silicon Valley Clean Energy Board of Directors endorses the efforts of the Beyond Gasoline Initiative to reduce gasoline consumption by 50% by 2030 in Santa Clara County.

PASSED AND ADOPTED this 9th day of June 2021, by the following vote:

JURISDICTION	NAME	AYE	NO	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
City of Campbell	Director Gibbons	✓			
City of Cupertino	Director Willey	✓			
City of Gilroy	Director Hilton	√			
City of Los Altos	Director Fligor	√			
Town of Los Altos Hills	Director Tyson	✓			
Town of Los Gatos	Director Rennie	✓			
City of Milpitas	Director Chua	√			
City of Monte Sereno	Alternate Director Mekechuk	√			
City of Morgan Hill	Director Martinez Beltran	√			
City of Mountain View	Director Abe-Koga	√			
County of Santa Clara	Director Ellenberg	√			
City of Saratoga	Director Walia	√			
City of Sunnyvale	Director Larsson	√			

Doc	uSigned by:
Ma	rgaret Abe-Koga
4F7F	F6F0AF86B485

Chair

ATTEST:	
DocuSigned by:	
Andrea Pizano	

Andrea Pizano, Board Secretary