SILICON VALLEY CLEAN ENERGY AUTHORITY

RESOLUTION NO. 2020-30

A RESOLUTION OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE SILICON VALLEY CLEAN ENERGY AUTHORITY AUTHORIZING THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER TO ENTER INTO LEGAL SERVICES AGREEMENTS WITH ORRICK, HERRINGTON & SUTCLIFFE AND CHAPMAN & CUTLER LLP FOR THE PROPOSED ENERGY PREPAYMENT TRANSACTION

WHEREAS, the Silicon Valley Clean Energy Authority ("Authority") was formed on March 31, 2016 pursuant to a Joint Powers Agreement to study, promote, develop, conduct, operate, and manage energy programs in Santa Clara County; and

WHEREAS, in order to achieve a significant reduction in power procurement costs, Authority and East Bay Community Energy (EBCE) are considering entering into an energy prepayment transaction involving the issuance of tax-exempt bonds by a third party conduit agency for which there would be no recourse against the Authority; and

WHEREAS, specialized legal counsel is required to draft the necessary documents for such transaction; and

WHEREAS, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe and Chapman & Cutler LLP were respectively selected as proposed legal counsel through a solicitation issued jointly with EBCE in June 2020.

NOW THEREFORE, the Board of Directors of the Silicon Valley Clean Energy Authority does hereby resolve, determine, and order as follows:

<u>Section 1.</u> The Chief Executive Officer is hereby authorized to negotiate and execute Legal Services Agreements with the following firms for legal representation on Authority's energy prepayment transaction: Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe – roles of Bond Counsel and Tax Counsel, and Chapman & Cutler LLP – roles of Disclosure Counsel and Issuer's Counsel. If the prepay transaction is executed and closes, the legal fees for both law firms shall not exceed \$635,000 and shall be paid from the bond proceeds. If the prepay transaction is not executed, legal fees shall be paid on an hourly fee basis to only Chapman & Cutler in an amount not to exceed \$30,000 that will be shared equally with EBCE. **PASSED AND ADOPTED** this 14^{th} day of October 2020, by the following vote:

JURISDICTION	NAME	AYE	NO	ABSTAIN	ABSENT
City of Campbell	Director Gibbons	\checkmark			
City of Cupertino	Director Sinks	\checkmark			
City of Gilroy	Director Tovar				\checkmark
City of Los Altos	Director Fligor	\checkmark			
Town of Los Altos Hills	Director Tyson	\checkmark			
Town of Los Gatos	Director Rennie	\checkmark			
City of Milpitas	Director Montano	\checkmark			
City of Monte Sereno	Director Ellahie	\checkmark			
City of Morgan Hill	Director Martinez Beltran				\checkmark
City of Mountain View	Director Abe-Koga	\checkmark			
County of Santa Clara	Director Ellenberg	\checkmark			
City of Saratoga	Director Miller	\checkmark			
City of Sunnyvale	Director Smith	\checkmark			

----- DocuSigned by:

Howard a Miller BCF39160CCF4

Chair

ATTEST:

— DocuSigned by: Andrea Pizano

8BC35644CE4848D

Andrea Pizano, Board Secretary